RYA Regional Young Sailor of the Year Award winners announced

Yachting — By on November 27, 2011 at 6:23 PM

 2011’s inspiring young sailors are recognised

The RYA has turned the spotlight on some of this year’s most inspiring young sailors as the 2011 RYA Regional Young Sailor of the Year Award winners are announced.
The 15 young sailors from the 13 RYA regions were nominated by sailing clubs and selected as winners by the regions’ committees. Ranging from gold medal wins to outstanding dedication to their club, all of the winners have made a large impact on youth sailing this year.
In January the youngsters will be treated to a VIP day at the Tullett Prebon London International Boat Show followed by the national YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award ceremony where they will receive their Regional Young Sailor trophies.
RYA Chief Executive Sarah Treseder says: “Winning an RYA Regional Young Sailor of the Year Award is a fantastic achievement and I am delighted to recognise the talent of these people and the dedication they show for our sport.  Awards such as this highlight the fact that so many young sailors are out there on the water enjoying themselves and achieving brilliant things.”

Region                                   Winner

Thames Valley                       Isobel Mitchell
Eastern                                    Gorgina Povall
North East                              Helen Armstrong
South East                               Luke Hagon
South West                             Emma Phillips
Scotland                                  Jamie Calder
North West                             Elliot Hanson
Northern Ireland                   Laura Gilmore
East Midlands                        Emily Hall
Southern                                 Annabel Vose and Megan Brickwood
Yorkshire and Humberside Matthew and Ben Lulham-Robinson
West Midlands                       Matt Venables
Wales                                       Matthew Whitfield

YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award

The three finalists of the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year award have also been announced. Finalists include:

Elliot Hanson
Elliot Hanson (17) has produced outstanding performances this summer alone. The seventeen-year-old sailor from Macclesfield sealed the U21 World Laser Radial bronze medal and U21 European Laser Radial title at the 2011 World and European Laser Radial Mens and Standard Junior Championships. Two weeks later he went onto secure a World and European silver medal at the 2011 World and European Laser Radial Youth Championships

Annabel Vose and Megan Brickwood
Annabel and Megan kick started 2011 by winning the Ladies World Title in Buenos Aires, Argentina in the 420 World Championships at just 16 years old and despite having a broken mast. The girls achieved RYA Team GBR’s best result at the Championship for five years They won silver at the 2011 Flanders Regatta (Nieuwpoort, Belgium) and were 1st female crew and won the bronze medal in the female fleet at The 2011 Open 420 Junior European Championships (Nieuwpoort, Belgium)

Ben Jelf
At the age of just 11 Ben has not only has he retained his two British titles from 2010 but has also received international recognition off the highest level claiming both a UIM World and European Powerboat Championship Title in just his third year of racing. At Coniston Powerboat Records Week in Cumbria Ben has also become the Britain’s youngest World Powerboat Speed Record holder and at the same time managed to raise over £2000 for Everyman Cancer.

Winners will be voted for by members of the YJA and will be announced at the Tullett Prebon London International Boat Show at 2:10pm on the Knowledge Box

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 4 + 15 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:


Leave a Trackback