“Maria Tsakos” Foundation – inaugural meeting of the Scientific Council –

Charity, Conferences, Seminars, Forums, Maritime Education and Training, Maritime History and Museums — By on November 30, 2012 at 1:27 PM

The order of appearance from left to right; in the first row: Dr.Stamatis Krimigis, His Eminence the Metropolitan Bishop of Chios, Psara and Oinousses Mr. Markos, Captain Panagiotis Tsakos; second row: Mrs. Evi Chatziandreou, Mr. Dimitris Abatzoglou and Mr. Fotis Karamitsos; third row: Admiral Stavros Michailides, Mr. J.Polychronopoulos and Professor C. Zerefos; fourth row: Mr. Papageorgiou and Vice-Admiral K. Katagas; and in the upper row: Dr. Tom Allan, Mrs. Glykeria Volika-Tsakos and Dr. Bjorn Kjerfve.

– Chios, Greece  30th November 2012 – With the presence of the Founder of the “Maria Tsakos” Foundation – International Center of Maritime Research & Tradition, NGO,  Captain Panagiotis Tsakos (Tsakos Group) and the Chairman of its Board of Directors,  Adm. Efthymios Mitropoulos the Foundation’s Scientific Council inaugural meeting was convened at Chios on the 23rd and 24th November 2012 under the chairmanship of  Dr. Stamatis Krimigis, an internationally known and distinguished space scientist.

on a l to r: Mr. VassilisPapageorgiou, Vice-Admiral K. Katagas, Dr. Bjorn Kjerfve, Professor C. Zerefos, Admiral Stavros Michailides, His Eminence the Metropolitan Bishop of Chios, Psara and Oinousses Mr. Markos, Dimitris Abatzoglou, Captain Panagiotis Tsakos, Dr.Stamatis Krimigis, Mrs. K. Tsartakleas, Adm. Efthymios Mitropoulos, Mrs. Evi Chatziandreou, Mr. J.Polychronopoulos and Dr. Tom Allan.

The Scientific Council is the Foundation’s Advisory arm regarding formulation and implementation of policies and activities in line with its vision and mission. During the inaugural meeting, the Council taking into account the Founders’ aspirations reviewed and refined the Foundation’s vision and mission and established its strategic directions. These are the promotion and support of maritime research and tradition, seafarers’ welfare, education, environment, philanthropy and volunteerism.

The Members of the S.C. are well known personalities, distinguished in Greece and internationally in fields commensurate with the Foundation’s vision, mission and objectives.

Council Chairman:Stamatis Krimigis: Member of the Academy of Athens, Head Emeritus of Space Programs, Johns Hopkins University, President of the Greek National Council for Research and Technology.

On a l to r: Vice-Admiral K. Katagas, Dr. Bjorn Kjerfve, Dr. Tom Allan, Admiral Stavros Michailides, Captain Panagiotis Tsakos and Dr.Stamatis Krimigis.

Council Members:

  • His Emminence the  Metropolitan Bishop of Chios, Psara and Oinousses Mr. Markos Vassilakis
  • Tom Allan: former Chairman of the I.M.O. Maritime Safety Committee
  • Georgios Chroussos: Professor of Pediatrics, Athens University Medical School
  • Kevin Featherstone: Professor and Chair of Eleftherios Venizelos, London School of Economics
  • Fotis Karamitsos: Deputy Director General of the Maritime Transport Directorate of the European Commission
  • Konstantinos Katagas: Vice-Admiral (rtd.) of the Hellenic Navy and author
  • Bjorn Kjerfve: President of the World Maritime University
  • The Very Revernet Mr. Patrick O’Ferrall, former Chairman of Lloyd’s Register of Shipping
  • Vassilios Papageorgiou: Deputy Chairman of Tsakos Shipping and Trading
  • Konstantinos Synolakis: Professor, President of the Hellenic Centre for Maritime Research
  •  Christos Zerefos: Member of the Academy of Athens, Professor Emeritus University of Athens

On a l to r: Captain Panagiotis Tsakos, Dr.Stamatis Krimigis, Mr. Efthymios Mitropoulos, Mrs. Evi Chatziandreou and Professor K. Synolakis.

The next meeting of the Scientific Council is scheduled to take place in April 2013.

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 9 + 6 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:


Leave a Trackback