ISAF Sailing World Cup – Weymouth & Portland

Sailing, Sports, Yachting — By on May 7, 2015 at 4:24 PM

isaf swwMedia Accreditation Now Open – ISAF Sailing World Cup Weymouth & Portland 8 – 14 June 2015

The world’s top Olympic classes sailors will be competing in Weymouth & Portland 8th – 14th June 2015

Olympic sailors and classes will return to the London 2012 sailing venue in June this year. The ISAF Sailing World Cup will be held at the Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy (WPNSA) 8 – 14 June 2015, organised by the Royal Yachting Association (RYA).

The world’s top sailors in all ten of the Olympic sailing classes and the three Paralympic classes plus top international kiteboard racers will be battling it out on the courses in Weymouth and Portland for places in ISAF Sailing World Cup Final in Abu Dhabi 27 October – 1 November 2015.

The line up includes 18 returning Olympic medallists from around the world including Gold medallists Mat Belcher (AUS) in 470 Men’s, Nathan Outteridge & Iain Jensen (AUS) in the 49er and Jo Aleh & Polly Powrie (NZL) in the Women’s 470, and Paralympic 2.4mR medallist Helena Lucas (GBR) plus a host of others.

There will be more announcements in the coming weeks.

Accredit here

And keep up to date with all the latest on our Facebook and Twitter pages

About the ISAF Sailing World Cup 2015 – Weymouth and Portland

The Royal Yachting Association (RYA) won the bid to host one of two European rounds of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, to be held at Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy -the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic sailing venue and home of the of the British Sailing Team.

The ISAF Sailing World Cup Weymouth and Portland is one of five world-class annual series for Olympic sailing, with the ISAF Sailing World Cup Final taking place in Abu Dhabi in October/November.

The world’s best sailors from 10 Olympic classes and xx Paralympic Classes will return to the London 2012 waters between 8-14 June with the racing conducted over five days starting from 10 June.

The 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup will consist of five rounds for all ten Olympic events and where possible, Formula Kite Racing – is the kite surfing in Weymouth??? yes

With reduced quotas, a qualification process based around the ISAF World Sailing Rankings and ISAF Sailing World Cup Qualification Regattas will be used to determine the entrants for each round, ensuring the world’s best sailors will be within the World Cup fleets.

About the RYA & British Sailing Team

The RYA is the National Governing Body for Sailing in the UK and manages the British Sailing Team comprising 80 sailors in both the Podium Squad and the Podium Potential Squad, all with their sights set on Olympic and Paralympic medals

Olympic classes competitions comprise 10 events: Finn, Laser, Laser Radial, 470 (men’s and women’s), 49er, 49erFX, Nacra 17, RS:X (men’s and women’s windsurfers), and there are three Paralympic classes: the 2.4mR, SKUD18 and Sonar.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 13 + 15 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:


Leave a Trackback