Qualification System for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series released

Sailing, Sports — By on October 6, 2016 at 3:45 PM

WORLD SAILING NEW LOGO 06102016The qualification system for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series, the pinnacle series of Olympic class racing, has been published.

The 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will consist of two Rounds for all 10 Olympic Events plus, when possible, a Paralympic One Person Event. The Series will culminate with a Final in Europe.

Click here to view the Qualification System.

Miami will host the first Round of the upcoming 2017 Series from 22-29 January 2017 with Hyeres, France following from 23-30 April 2017. A European Final will conclude the shortened series in late June / early July.

Sailors attending the 2016 Sailing World Cup Final in Melbourne, Australia will automatically qualify for the 2017 series with the remaining places awarded based on the World Sailing Rankings.

The Rio 2016 Olympic medallists will automatically qualify for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Final and they will be joined by winners of the Sailing World Cup Miami and Hyeres Rounds. For the remaining places, qualification to the Final will be based on combined results at the Sailing World Cup Rounds, with the highest placed finishers booking their spot on the start line.

Sailor invitations for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will be sent out on Monday 10 October.

2017 Sailing World Cup Series
Miami, USA – 22-29 January 2017
Hyeres, France – 22-30 April 2017
European Final, venue TBD – late June/ early July

After the shortened 2017 series, the Sailing World Cup series will run from October to July every year, incorporating three Rounds and a European Final at the end of June / early July.

Japan will host a Sailing World Cup Round each October from 2017 through to 2019 before holding the Final in July 2020, just weeks before the Olympic Games.  Qualification regattas for the 2017/18 season will be announced by the end of October 2016.

2017 – 2020 Sailing World Cup series of events
2017/18: Japan (October 2017), Miami (January 2018), Hyeres (May 2018) + European Final
2018/19: Japan (October 2018), Miami (January 2019), Europe Round (May-June) + European Final
2019/20: Japan (October 2019), Miami, (January 2020) Europe Round (May-June) + Japan Final (July 2020)


Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 8 + 10 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:


Leave a Trackback