Last chance to nominate for the 2017 Greek Shipping Awards

Anniversaries, Associations, Awards, Company Profiles, Events, HR, News, Person Profiles — By on October 11, 2017 at 8:55 PM

Last chance to nominate for the 2017 Greek Shipping Awards

Only one week to go to submit entries for prestigious awards

Only one week remains for entries to be submitted for this year’s Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards and the pace of the submissions has increased as it always does at this time of year.

Nominations close on Wednesday October 18 for the 2017 awards, which once again are supported by a host of industry organisations and sponsors headed by lead event sponsor ClassNK.

For long-term shipping players, turbulent, even depressed, spells in the industry always mean there will be winners and losers. At such times the task of deciding criteria for adjudicating the year’s most award-worthy performers if anything becomes tougher.

That is part of the job of the independent judges who will decide the winners of this year’s Greek Shipping Awards, and this year’s panel of luminaries looks more than capable of applying high standards and taking tough decisions.

Some are experienced hands from previous awards years, such as Chairman of the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee Haralambos Fafalios, Chairman of Helmepa George Gratsos, Secretary General Emeritus of the IMO Efthimios E. Mitropoulos, President of the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping George Pateras, Maritime Historian Gelina Harlaftis and Panhellenic Seamen’s Federation general secretary Capt. John Halas.

Making their first appearance on the judging panel are Vasilis Bacolitsas Chairman of Intertanko’s Hellenic Mediterranean Panel, Irene Daifas President of the Piraeus Marine Club and Stavros Hatzigrigoris Chairman of the Marine Technical Managers Association.

More than 65 prominent personalities from Greek shipping have taken part in the awards judging panel, which is refreshed each year. Over 170 trophies have already been presented at the event, now in its fourteenth year, which has established a reputation as the largest international maritime awards ceremony worldwide. This year’s awards dinner will be held at the Athenaeum InterContinental hotel in Athens on Friday November 24.

The awards always attract a high number of very competitive nominations underlying the strength in depth of the Greek shipping community, while audiences at the presentation dinner have averaged 1,000 leading shipping personalities and their guests.

The opportunity to nominate is flung open to anyone connected with shipping, from the most prestigious owner to the humblest clerk, and in exercising their objectivity down the years the judges have played a key role in establishing the awards’ reputation for fairness and credibility.

The judges can only select winners from those nominated in writing by the deadline of Wednesday October 18. You can nominate on-line via the website  Nominations for the Greek Shipping Awards are also accepted by simple email or fax (email:; fax: +30 210 4291196)

Remember to provide reasons why your candidate would make a deserving winner.


Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2017 Gala Dinner – Friday November 24, 2017. 

2017 Awards Categories:

Dry Cargo Company of the Year

Sponsored by Marichem Marigases

Tanker Company of the Year

Sponsored by Bureau Veritas

Passenger Line of the Year

Sponsored by Palumbo Shipyards

Shipbroker of the Year

Sponsored by the Tsakos Group

Shipping Financier of the Year

Sponsored by Tototheo Maritime

Piraeus International Centre Award

Technical Achievement Award

Sponsored by DNV GL

International Personality of the Year

Sponsored by Capital Ship Management Corp.

Ship of the Year

Sponsored by RightShip

Award for Achievement in Education or Training

Award for Achievement in Safety or Environmental Protection

Sponsored by Lloyd’s Register

The Next Generation Shipping Award – NEW

Sponsored by IRI / The Marshall Islands Registry

Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award

Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Cyprus Department of Merchant Shipping

Greek Shipping Personality of the Year

Sponsored by Eurobank

* Denotes awards not decided by the panel


Seafarer of the Year

Sponsored by Tsavliris Salvage Group

Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year*

Sponsored by ExxonMobil

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 6 + 10 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:


Leave a Trackback