Hot Port News from GAC

Port Conditions, Ports & Terminals, Sports, Strikes — By on September 26, 2018 at 7:02 PM

26-Sep-2018

CANOE AND SURF SKI RACE
Hong Kong

UNIONS CALL INDEFINITE STRIKE
Nigeria

Canoe and Surf Ski Race
Wednesday, September 26, 2018, Hong Kong

A canoe and surf ski race will take place on 1 Oct 2018 (Monday) during the period from 0830 hours to 1600 hours. About 50 canoes and surf skis with 5 guard boats are expected to participate in the race.

Depending on the weather condition, the race will take place along one of the racing routes as follows:

Route 1:
The race will start from Causeway Bay in Victoria Harbour, and finish off Chung Hom Kok, via Chai Wan, Cape D’Aguilar and Bluff Head, if winds are Easterly or North-Easterly.

Route 2:
The race will start from Deep Water Bay and finish off Shek O Back Beach, via Middle Island, Beaufort Island and Fury Rock, if winds are Southwesterly, Southerly or South-Southeasterly.

Masters, coxswains and persons-in-charge of vessels navigating in the vicinity of the racing route should proceed with caution, giving practical consideration to the contestants. Compliance with the provisions of the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea 1972 is mandatory.

(For information about operations in Hong Kong, contact GAC Hong Kong at shipping.hongkong@gac.com)

Source: Government of the Hong Kong SAR Marine Department Notice No.150 of 2018

Unions call indefinite strike
Wednesday, September 26, 2018, Nigeria

Business activities in Nigeria may be totally paralysed from the early hours of tomorrow morning (27 September) due to an indefinite strike declared by the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Trade Union Congress (TUC) and United Labour Congress (ULC) in protest at the suspension of minimum wage negotiations between the government and unions.

This implies all affiliates of these unions including the Maritime Workers Union.

GAC Nigeria has a contingency plan in place, and the following staff can be reached as follows:

Shipping Operations
Michael Isijola (Shipping Manager)
– Mobile Tel: +234-805-729-9388
– Email: michael.isijola@gac.com

Ships Supply Services
Michael Eleng
– Mobile Tel: +234 805 8302888
– Email: michael.eleng@gac.com
Chibuzor Ikeije
– Mobile Tel: +234-805 732 0093
– Email: chibuzor.ikeije@gac.com

GMS Recruitment Services Ltd

Ibrahim Agoro (Manning Coordinator)
– Mobile Tel: +234-805-443-4925
– Email: Ibrahim.agoro@gac.com
Tope Fajemirokun
– Mobile Tel: +234-807-709-7071
– Email: sss.nigeria@gac.com

Logistics
Department Email: logistics.nigeria@gac.com
Adeniyi Adesile (Asst. Logistics Manager)
– Mobile Tel: +234 84 79 31 45
– Email: niyi.adesile@gac.com

GAC Marine Services
Department Email: gts.nigeria@gac.com
Charles Uzogara (QA/HSSE Manager )
– Mobile Tel : +234-807 496-2740
– Email: charles.uzogara@gac.com

Hapag- LLOYD

Florian Nittscher (GM Liner Hapag-Lloyd)
– Mobile Tel: +234-805-729-9384
– Email: florian.nittscher@gac.com
Tunji Odunaro (Liner Manager Hapag-Lloyd)
– Mobile Tel: + 234-805-409-0026
– Email: tunji.odunaro@gac.com

For information about operations in Nigeria, contact GAC Nigeria at nigeria@gac.com

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

What is 7 + 14 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:

Trackbacks

Leave a Trackback